Presbyterians are actually named for our form of government rather than our theology. Presbuteros is the Greek word for “elder.” We are named “presbyterians” because we are governed by elders. At CPC, our elders are elected by the congregation and typically serve 3 year terms. We call our governing body a “session,” other churches may call it a “council.”

Our Session organizes itself through committees and occasional task forces. Our current Session and committees are listed below.

Session Organization in 2022

Clerk of Session, Lori Ransom

Worship, Eileen Tulloch, chair

  • Subcommittee:
    • “Sanctuary Care Team”

Christian Formation, Jaci Balcombe, chair

  • Subcommittee:
    • Adult Formation, Anne Hoff, chair

Mission, Cindy Chapman, Chair

  • Subcommittee:
    • Rural and Migrant Ministry Team

Nominating, Jaci Balcombe, Chair

Personnel, Barbara Piascik, chair

Finance, Paul Korykora, chair

  • Subcommittees:
    • Stewardship, Allison Barry, chair
    • Investment and Endowment, Nick Schewtschenko, chair

Property, Mike Mattausch, chair

VNS Committee, Paul Korykora, chair

Congregational Care/Deacons: Pat Parker and Jim Leiner, co-chairs
Jean Clearwater and Carol Hemphill, Deacons

  •   Subcommittees:
    •   Care Tree
    •   Sunshine Team
    •   Prayer Team
    •   Welcome Team

Organ Repair Task Force: Paul Korykora, chair

  • Jeff Knight, Phil Cameron, Ruthanne Schempf

Holy Cow Task Force: Jaci Balcombe, chair,

  • David Kashinski, Jim Leiner, Donna Niblo, Greg Ransom, Ken Sampson, Carol Sobiesk